Welcoming Autumn!


It’s Autumn Festival time again! The time we journey up into the Blue Mountains, gather produce, have a picnic, throw leaves at each other and thank God for making Autumn.

Last weekend my boys and I travelled up to Mt Wilson with 9 other friends in order to celebrate the season and its Creator. It was a rainy day and oftentimes we found ourselves surrounded by mists. At other times we found we were above the mist and looked down to see it veiling the mountains below. It was so beautiful.

On our way up the mountain we bought pumpkins and apples, I also bought a delicious tonic which is very similar to the recipe below. After our 3 hour drive, we picnicked in the mountains, walked, gathered chestnuts – which, I have decided are not as lovely and romantic as they sound. Just because there is a song about them doesn’t mean chestnuts are delicious. They are floury and bland and blah and if anyone knows how to cook them so they are not, I’d like to know because I would like to like chestnuts so that they can be romanticised in my mind once again. We threw leaves at each other and saw the most gorgeous red mushrooms I have ever seen! You can see some of the photos I took of them and of the day in the slide show above.

Tonight is the annual Autumn Festival dinner where we traditionally cook and eat our gathered produce, display our Autumnal leaves, exchange Autumn poems and hold our pumpkin carving competition while eating pumpkin pie. Yum!

Tragically, I cannot attend this year. I am sick. Probably from walking around in the cold rain last weekend. Autumn is so beautiful but it can also be so cruel. Ah! I love it still!

7 Responses to “Welcoming Autumn!”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    You know, that hurts my brain a little bit because here, the trees are just budding and little crocuses are sticking their heads above ground.

  2. missmellifluous Says:

    I know. I’m so egocentric that I think the whole world should be experiencing things just as I am. I feel cheated when we get winter and you guys are moving into summer. Then I hate that you get snow and well, I just don’t.

  3. ish Says:

    Thanks for the beauty. Get well!

  4. kim from hiraeth Says:

    Your autumn is beautiful, and right on time! I like that I can experience spring here and fall there at the same time through your photos.

    The slide show was wonderful! I’ll have to try that sometime!

  5. Ellen Says:

    How soon I forget that you live in another season from me. I love Autumn. I hope you feel top notch soon!

  6. Islandsparrow Says:

    I love your autumn pics – it’s a beautiful time of year and I’ll welcome it gladly AFTER we get our summer!!

    🙂

    I love the slideshow – I’ll have to get my act together and do that for my 50th bday pics!

  7. candyinsierras Says:

    did you try roasting your chestnuts? At least that is what the song says to do. 🙂

    I love mist. I live in dry desert. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

