My 9 year old is pretty furious right now. He wants to vote.

“I’m responsible and make good decisions!” he asserts, “So, why can’t I vote?”

In a country where voting is compulsory, I only wish the adult population felt the same way.  I need to find a way for a little man with a big social conscience to make a difference and be heard. Any ideas?

3 Responses to “”

  1. Paul Says:

    Set him up with a blog, of course! It’s free and gives stacks of quick positive learning feedback, and you can do as much or as little as you want. As you know, my dear :-P.

    See http://katiesthought.blogspot.com and http://joelsthought.blogspot.com for my own offsprings’ offerings. Sometimes they are more inspired than others – as you will see, my son has turned his into a collection of kiddie jokes, and my daughter uses it as a kind of shrine to personal consumerism (don’t tell them I said that!) – but it’s still there for him if he does have something he wants to say.

  2. missmellifluous Says:

    Ouch! Was the emphasis on “little as you want” there, Paul? Ha! 🙂 Point taken. *sigh* I do want to post more but just don’t have the time.

    I think the idea of my 9yo having a blog would freak me out a little! He can stay hidden from the world a bit longer, I think.

    I was thinking more along the lines of writing a letter, fundraising to support a cause…that kinda thing. Something less seen by the world but effective and habit forming. Something that demonstrates and nurtures his heart for justice…I just don’t know what that may be…

  3. Paul Says:

    Mell, no “ouch”, really. I wish I was as dedicated to the things I need to do as you are. And so does my wife ….

Leave a Reply

