lifeblood

I am dead tired!

Yesterday I donated blood. I took a group of Yr 10 students to the Blood Bank in what we affectionately called ‘The Vampire Bus,’ and we all donated 470mls to help save a life or two. It doesn’t sound like much of a sacrifice, 470mls is not that much blood, but today I’m really feeling tired. Soooo tired. Like I could just fall-asleep-anywhere tired. And this has got me thinking…

Isn’t it amazing how God says the life is in the blood of every living creature? I love how the Bible shows us that God has life all figured out well before scientists and doctors know much about it. This whole “life is in the blood” idea has really got me thinking about the significance of Christ’s death, the shedding of His blood to give us life, and His words at the Passover meal he shared with his disciples before going to the cross. It’s so significant…but right now I’m way too tired to take my thinking any further. But I’d love to hear what you’re thinking…

Isn’t it incredible that blood saves lives and God uses the blood of His Son to save us spiritually?

Isn’t it amazing the way blood works? It really is the life force! No wonder I feel dead tired with less of it!

Blood is amazing! That Jesus blood brings us real life blows my mind.

16 Responses to “lifeblood”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I’ve never been allowed to donate blood – first I was way too skinny and now that I’m certainly not I’m way too anemic.
    But good job, you.

  2. Ellen Says:

    Good for you for giving blood! I have had so many issues with them not being able to find a good vein and having to poke me too much that I stay away!
    As far as the importance of blood all I have to say is “nothing but the blood of Jesus” It is incredible to ponder…

  3. Ellen Says:

    Well this is my second comment attempt cuz akismet has been sending all my comments to spam for a couple of days now…but wordpress fixed it for me. Now about donating blood. I don’t because I have had issues with doctors and nurses not being able to find a good spot to draw my blood from. I get poked many times and it gets very traumatic for me. But enough of that. Now on the power in Christ’s blood, that is an amazing thing that I hope to be appreciate more and more.
    Blessings…

  4. Ellen Says:

    One of my Northern Hemisphere bloggy friends has this question on her blog…I wonder if you can shed any light on it?
    Do Christmas carols from those who celebrate Christmas in the southern hemisphere exist? Have I just not heard them because we live in the Northern Hemisphere? If they DO exist, what do they highlight as the warm Christmas experiences that are the polar opposite (sorry, I couldn’t resist) of our sleigh rides, cocoa, snowman, and North Pole imagery? Hmmmm… We northerners can’t really hold the world’s only song writer’s of Christmas carols… There’s gotta be a southern version of Bing, Nat, Sinatra etc. right?

  5. kim from hiraeth Says:

    Even my husband is worried about where you are.

    He asked me last night if I ever hear from my Australian friend. I told him you were busy with school and school and you check in when you can. He asked how long it had been and when I said I wasn’t sure but it had been a long time, he asked me “what kind of friend are you?”

    Ahem. How are you, my friend? I miss you and my hubby wants to make sure you’re OK.

    : D

  6. missmellifluous Says:

    Ha! Tell your husband you are a fantastic friend and your Australian Friend has, as you said, been very busy at school and then lost her internet connection in a massive hail storm and despite having been hit in the head with a hail stone the size of a tennis ball in said hail storm, she is well and misses her American friend very much. xo

    Also, now your Australian friend is on holidays she will be able to blog more…though maybe not until after Christmas as she is hoping to go away with her family next week and has a crazy busy weekend coming up. She will try to post soonest and in the meanwhile, sends love.
    🙂

  7. missmellifluous Says:

    Oh, Ellen! I just noticed your question. The answer is, yes, we have Aussie Christmas carols but they’re all really bad. Rewrites of Jingle Bells with cliched Australianisms. Gahhh!!! I hate them. Sadly no Bings, Nats or Sinatras. Alas!

    I don’t really like Northern Hemisphere carols for Christmas either. It seems so silly to be singing about white christmases in the sweltering heat of summer. However, carols are still really big down here. I like the Christian ones the best. They are timeless and true. I love singing those.

    I think there are a few good Australian ones but for now they escape me. I’ll get back to you if I find some good ones. Good question!

  8. kim from hiraeth Says:

    Did you know I’m going to be a grandma???

    Yes, indeed-y!

    : D

  9. Ellen Says:

    Thank you Miss M!
    I appreciate your answering my question. Sorry about you getting hit in the head with the hail stone. Those storms can sure cause a lot of damage. Enjoy getting away with your family. Have a very Merry Blessed Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

  10. missmellifluous Says:

    Gasp!!! Kim!!!! A grandma!!!! Woooooooohooooooooo!!!!!!
    I’m sooooo excited for you!!! OOOoooh, guess what too? I’m going to be an aunty!!!! 🙂 Haha!!! Bubbas for both of us! Yay!

  11. kim from hiraeth Says:

    What fun! Aren’t babies the best? I can’t wait until June. . .

  12. missmellifluous Says:

    They are!!! Ours will be here in April. 🙂 I just want to know if it will be a niece or a nephew so I can buy all manner of little things. Waiting is difficult.

  13. Radagast Says:

    Best wishes, and a Christmas hymn for you…

    O little town of Bethlehem, how still we see thee lie!
    Above thy deep and dreamless sleep the silent stars go by.
    Yet in thy dark streets shineth the everlasting Light;
    The hopes and fears of all the years are met in thee tonight.

    For Christ is born of Mary, and gathered all above,
    While mortals sleep, the angels keep their watch of wondering love.
    O morning stars together, proclaim the holy birth,
    And praises sing to God the King, and peace to men on earth!

    O holy Child of Bethlehem, descend to us, we pray;
    Cast out our sin, and enter in, be born in us today.
    We hear the Christmas angels the great glad tidings tell;
    O come to us, abide with us, our Lord Emmanuel!

  14. missmellifluous Says:

    Happy Christmas to you too, Radagast!
    Great hymn! Thank you.

  15. kim from hiraeth Says:

    Merry Christmas, MissM!

  16. Islandsparrow Says:

    Sending love and best wishes for a happy Christmas across the continent and ocean to you and yours!

    with love
    kathie

Leave a Reply

