I Sank A Canadian Today

…and am now soooo exhausted!

7 Responses to “I Sank A Canadian Today”

  1. Kim from Hiraeth Says:

    Sank a Canadian? Do explain! This sounds like a good story. . .

  2. Ellen Says:

    They don’t call me the happy wonderer for nothing ….you’ve got me wondering big time…

  3. Islandsparrow Says:

    ??

    Since I’m Canadian, I demand the right to know. πŸ™‚

  4. missmellifluous Says:

    Maybe I should say “A Canadian sank me” either way both myself, the Canadian and my children sank!

    The ‘Canadian’ is a canoe and as I was canoeing yesterday with my boys and friends, the swell picked up and started swamping our boat. We had paddled from Church Point to Newport and were making our way across Pittwater to Scotland Island when we started taking water over the sides.

    (You can see where we were here)

    The boat became heavy and got very unbalanced and very difficult to paddle and before long we sank.

    The boys (10 and 7) were in life jackets and were very good (though before we sank one of them was screaming “We’re going to sink!!! We’re all going to DIE!!!!” Gah!!!! He calmed right down when we actually did sink and he realised it was not so bad). The boys grabbed the paddles and my eldest even rescued the bananas while I grabbed the rest of the gear and tried to keep the canoe afloat. Our friends turned back and rescued us. We threw all our gear to them and the boys hung onto their kayak. Before long people appeared from everywhere to rescue us! A kind man in a boat took my boys aboard and helped me turn the canoe over and empty most of the water out. Then we bailed the rest and paddled for home. We never made it to Scotland Island but we all survived!!! And we didn’t lose anything. We can laugh now but it was quite scary at the time. I am so thankful my little men are ok!!! We’re all ok.I am feeling it today though!

    So you see, we sank a Canadian. :S

  5. Islandsparrow Says:

    Aha – I get it now – I’m glad you are all safe – that would be scary.

    I”m thinking about you with all these fires going on. Hope all is well.

    xo
    Kathie

  6. kim from hiraeth Says:

    Popping in to tell you that I’m thinking of you and hoping you are safe and sound.

    K

  7. missmellifluous Says:

    Hi Kathie and Kim,
    We’re fine down here. Victoria has copped it hard with the fires. Some of my friends have relatives who have been evacuated but I don’t know anyone personally who has lost property or life. I do know of a Christian school that lost 8 of its students in the fires! Tough times for that community. 😦 But it’s happening pretty far away from us.
    In Sydney we have just had VERY hot days – some near to 50ΒΊC!!! My oldest fainted on one of those days! – and now we are getting a LOT of rain. Queensland has had floods so the extreme weather that characterises our summers is kicking in but is wilder than usual!!
    Thanks for thinking of me! We’re all ok. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment