Everything’s Coming Up Poppy’s!

I am an Aunty!!!!
Wooooo!!!
My brother and his lovely wife have given birth to a beautiful little girl, Poppy! She is soooooo lovely! Incredibly beautiful and we are all wildly besotted!
The Most Beautiful Poppy in the World! xxx

The Most Beautiful Poppy in the World xxx

The name Poppy really suits her quite well for she is so delicate, so beautiful that no one can keep their eyes off her as soon as she enters the room, deliciously faintly scented with that lovely new baby smell, and is somewhat, ok completely addictive!

Since holding her my boys have said:
Oh Mama! If anything ever happens to Poppy I will be soooooo sad!
&
[whispers] Awww! Did you see that?! Isn’t she beauuuutiful!

We watch every little blink and frown, every twitch at the corners of her mouth – they are smiles, you know – every squeak, every sigh, every flutter of her lashes, crinkle of her brow, and wiggle of her fingers and we adore her. Oh we adore her!

She is, as my little man says, “The first girl-child in our family [and] it’s lucky she is here because we needed a girl-child.”

This same little man has taken up French Knitting to make his precious little cousin a “sausage shape” or a “P for Poppy”. He has chosen a fantastic colour changing wool that, like Poppy, is “just beautiful!”. My older little man has been somewhat more reserved, that is until he held little Poppy yesterday. Now he is devoted. He has become Poppy’s personal photographer, capturing every change and admiring it nostalgically moments after it occurs. Mum is madly knitting little booties and bonnets and embroidering pink onto everything. Dad is quietly proud. He holds her and beams. My brother cries with joy, my sister-in-law is radiant. Sleep deprived and still radiant. I am an Aunty! And I can’t stop buying pink things, filling my house and my brother’s house with fresh poppies from local growers and exclaiming, “Welcome, beautiful Poppy! You are so beautiful!” And isn’t she?!

Tags:

8 Responses to “Everything’s Coming Up Poppy’s!”

  1. kim from hiraeth Says:

    She is beautiful. I love her name.

  2. missmellifluous Says:

    🙂 Thank you, Kim. Me too!

  3. missmellifluous Says:

    Kim, did you ever post about the little one you were waiting to arrive? I can’t find a post and I’m sure the little person in your family was due before ours…

  4. kim from hiraeth Says:

    No, our grandson is due on June 13. I will DEFINITELY post as soon as I can and as much as they allow me!

    I don’t know yet if they will want me to post photos, but if not, I will email them to you!

  5. Ellen Says:

    OH SWEET! Congratulations. what a great name…

  6. missmellifluous Says:

    Kim: Oh! Good. So you’re still waiting. I can’t wait for him to arrive. How exciting!!!!

    Thanks, Ellen. It is a great name. I love it. She’s so tiny too just like a budding flower.

  7. Islandsparrow Says:

    Oh, she is a darling!! and Poppy is a sweet name. Congratulations!

  8. In retrospect: It’s all about me[!]me[!] « regainingparadise Says:

    […] I have a lovely new Poppy! And more very funny little people. I adore my […]

Leave a comment